Notary - Courses



Notary - Licensing Process


To become a licensed California Notary Public, you must do the following:

  • Be 18 years of age or older (there is no maximum age set by statute)
  • Be a legal California resident
  • Complete a 6-hour course of study approved by the Secretary of State (SOS)
  • Satisfactorily complete and pass a written examination prescribed by the SOS
  • Get fingerprinted and clear a background check (see http://www.sos.ca.gov/notary/qualifications/ for more info on background check process)
  • Obtain 1 2”x2” Passport photo to submit with Notary License application

To practice as a licensed Notary Public in California, you must obtain the following:

  • $15,000 bond from a surety/insurance company authorized to transact business in the state
  • Notary Ink Stamp from a state-approved vendor
  • Notary Journal
  • Errors & Omissions Insurance (optional)
  • Embosser Stamp (optional)

For questions regarding the licensing, application, please contact the Secretary of State directly:(916) 653-3595 or www.sos.ca.gov

 

 

 



Notary -



Notary -



Notary -

Pat is a fantastic instructor! Funny and witty, he helped make the week fly by. He made insurance interesting and fun (not an easy thing to do) Rick handled code and both days of the crash course. His real life examples really hammered home the theory/idea being discussed. He also did a great job! Most important Mike Russ financial training helped me pass my Life and Health state exam, today. Thank you, Mike Russ!

Johnny M.